Answering services and AI receptionists, compared
Published prices and features for 29 services, read from each provider’s own website and dated. Set your call volume and the table works out what each one would cost you a month. Nobody pays to be listed.
- Providers
- 29
- Live · AI · hybrid
- 12 · 11 · 6
- Publish prices
- 25 of 29
- Median starting price
- $129 live or hybrid · $89 AI
| Provider | Type | From | At your volume | 24/7 live or AI | Spanish | HIPAA | Books appointments |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abby Connect | Hybrid | $165/mo | $1,380 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| AgentZap | AI | $109/mo | $295 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Alert Communications | Hybrid | $240/mo | Not published | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| AnswerConnect | Live | $350/mo | $668 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| AnswerFirst | Live | $30/mo | $908 | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| AnswerForce | Live | $349/mo | $667 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Avoca | AI | Quote | Quote only | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Back Office Betties | Live | Quote | Quote only | No | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Conversational | Live | $209/mo | $799 | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Davinci Virtual | Live | $129/mo | $829 | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Dialzara | AI | $29/mo | $199 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Goodcall | AI | $79/mo | $104 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| LEX Reception | Live | Quote | Quote only | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Map Communications | Live | $49/mo | $595 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Moneypenny (US) | Hybrid | $69/mo | $309 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| My AI Front Desk (Frontdesk) | AI | $99/mo | $162 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Newo.ai | AI | $299/mo | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Nexa | Hybrid | Quote | Quote only | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| NextPhone | AI | $199/mo | $199 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| PATLive | Live | $49/mo | $759 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Phonely | AI | $50/mofree plan too | $113 | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Posh | Hybrid | $65/mo | $900 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Rosie | AI | $49/mo | $149 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Ruby | Live | $250/mo | $1,725 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Sameday | AI | $449/mo | $449 | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Signius | Live | $45/mo | $561 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Smith.ai | Hybrid | $150/mofree plan too | $338 | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
| Specialty Answering Service | Live | $44/mo | $600 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Trillet | AI | $49/mo | $109 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
By industry
- Law firms22 providers name them
- Property management7 providers name them
- Medical practices17 providers name them
- Dental practices7 providers name them
- Chiropractors2 providers name them
- HVAC companies9 providers name them
- Plumbers9 providers name them
- Roofing companies8 providers name them
- Construction companies10 providers name them
- Real estate agents17 providers name them
How this directory works
Each provider’s plans, overage rates, contract terms and features are read from its own website, and every provider page links to the exact pages used and the date they were checked. Where a provider does not publish something, the directory says “not stated” rather than guessing. The cost estimate uses each provider’s cheapest published plan at the volume you enter, including overage; it does not include taxes, setup fees or add-ons.
Found something out of date? Email [email protected] with the provider’s page and it will be corrected.
Your answering service is only half of it.
I don’t sell answering services. I build the parts around them: a website that books appointments by itself, the connection that drops each call into your CRM or practice software, and AI assistants that answer the same questions in text.